Legislative Update: 81 Legislators sign on!

March 2009


Thanks to your hard work, 81 state Senators and Representatives signed on to co-sponsor the CPA legislation, An Act to Sustain Community Preservation.  We extend our thanks to these legislators, and to the members of Community Preservation Committees statewide who reached out to their elected officials.


Legislative Sponsors


Twenty-one of the 40 state Senators and 60 of the 160 state Representatives agreed to co-sponsor the CPA bill.  This is nearly four times the number of co-sponsors we had last session, which bodes well for community preservation!  These legislators represent diverse constituencies throughout Massachusetts, indicating a broad base of support for the CPA. 


If your legislators are listed below, please take a minute to recognize them by sending a Letter to the Editor to your local newspaper.  Click here for a sample letter that you can use.


The co-sponsors include:


Chief Sponsor: Cynthia Stone Creem

Senate Co-Sponsors: Stephen Brewer, Scott Brown, Stephen Buoniconti, Gale Candaras, Harriette Chandler, Kenneth Donnelly, Benjamin Downing, James Eldridge, Susan Fargo, Jennifer Flanagan, Anthony Galluccio, Robert Hedlund, Patricia Jehlen, Joan Menard, Robert O’Leary, Marc Pacheco, Stanley Rosenberg, James Timilty, Susan Tucker, Bruce Tarr


Lead House Sponsor: Stephen Kulik

House Co-Sponsors: Geraldo Alicea, Cory Atkins, Bruce Ayers, Carlo Basile, Jennifer Benson, Garrett Bradley, William Brownsberger, Thomas Calter, Christine Canavan, Stephen Canessa, James Cantwell, Cheryl Coakley-Rivera, Thomas Conroy, Geraldine Creedon, Steven D’Amico, Carolyn Dykema, Mark Falzone, Ann-Margaret Ferrante,  Colleen Garry, Susan Gifford, Anne Gobi, Denis Guyer, Lida Harkins, Kate Hogan, Louis Kafka, Jay Kaufman, John Keenan, Kay Khan, Peter Kocot, Jason Lewis, Barbara L’Italien, Timothy Madden, Paul McMurtry, James Miceli, James Murphy, Harold Naughton, James O’Day, Matthew Patrick, Sarah Peake, Alice Peisch, Jeffrey Perry, John Quinn, Robert Rice, Michael Rodrigues, Richard Ross, Rosemary Sandlin, John Scibak, Frank Smizik, Todd Smola, Joyce Spiliotis, Thomas Stanley, Ellen Story, William Straus, Benjamin Swan, Timothy Toomey, Cleon Turner, James Vallee, James Welch, Alice Wolf


Filed in January, this legislation seeks to stabilize the statewide CPA Trust Fund and make other improvements to the Act. For more information, read the bill summary and text of the legislation, or call the Coalition at 617-367-8998.


What comes next?


Soon, the legislation will be given a bill number and assigned to a legislative committee.  After that, the committee will hold a public hearing to solicit comments on the bill.  The Coalition will certainly testify, and we encourage you and your Community Preservation Committee to submit written testimony – or even come to the State House and testify in person.  We’ll keep you updated each step of the way.