Kuehn Award Recipients to be honored at 2014 State House CPA Celebration

December 6, 2013: The Community Preservation Coalition is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's Kuehn Community Preservation Awards. The individuals listed below are being recognized for their significant contributions to the success of the Community Preservation Act (CPA). Each recipient's dedication, enthusiasm, leadership, and tireless commitment to community preservation in communities across the state have marked them as a true heroes of CPA, whose work best exemplifies the spirit of Robert H. Kuehn, Jr.  Award judges included members of the Community Preservation Coalition Steering Committee.

The Third Annual Kuehn Community Preservation Awards will take place on January 14, 2014 at 10:30am in the Great Hall at the Massachusetts State House.   The event will also provide an opportunity for CPA advocates to show the value of CPA to state legislators and the need for continued support to the statewide CPA Trust Fund. 





Howard Baker-Smith, Dartmouth

Derrill Bazzy, Aquinnah

Paul Boudo, West Springfield

Colleen Brown, Swansea

Janet Chayes, Conway

Mayor Joseph A. Curtatone & Meridith Levy, Somerville

Edmund Hands & Avery Lee Williams, Easton

Philippe Jordi, Martha's Vineyard

Alfred Lima, Fall River

Cheri Vallone Rigby, Ashland


Robert H. Kuehn, Jr. was actively involved in the process of drafting and passing the Community Preservation Act (CPA), signed into law in the fall of 2000. Bob was also one of the founders and main supporters of the Community Preservation Coalition, and served as Vice Chair of its Steering Committee until his death in June of 2006. To read a compilation of remembrances and remarks on Bob Kuehn, click here.