House Set to Debate $25 million for CPA

April 17, 2015: Representative Peter Kocot (D-Northampton) has filed an amendment to the House budget calling for up to $25 million of the state's FY15 budget surplus, if available, to be transferred to the CPA Trust Fund.

The CPA amendment (#881 to H.3400) will be considered as part of the House's budget debate, which is set to get underway on Monday, April 27th.  If the amendment clears the House, the proposal will then move to the Senate for their budget debate in mid-May. We are grateful to Chairman Kocot, House Ways and Means Vice Chair Stephen Kulik, and the amendment co-sponsors for their support of CPA.

If available, this surplus funding would be transferred to the CPA Trust by November 15th, thereby providing an immediate boost for this year's expected record-low trust fund distribution.  The Legislature has been very supportive of funding the trust in this manner, having provided $25 million in state surplus funds at the end of FY13, and another $11.4 million at the end of FY14.

State surplus funding is not a long-term answer for CPA, however. As such, the Coalition is advocating for a permanent solution - an adjustment in the current funding source for the CPA Trust Fund.  Legislation to accomplish that goal, An Act to Sustain Community Preservation Revenue, (HB2587 and SB1459) has been assigned to the Joint Committee on Revenue and is awaiting a hearing date.

The Coalition will be on hand at the State House during budget week, and we'll send along news on the CPA amendment immediately after the vote is taken during the week of April 27th. 

CPA Amendment Receives Strong Support in the House

As of April 27th, there are 31 representatives who have signed on to support Amendment #881 to H.3400.

Lead Sponsor: Peter Kocot

Co-Sponsors: James Arciero, Brian Ashe, James Cantwell, Angelo D’Emilia, Marjorie Decker, Carolyn Dykema, John Fernandes, Ann-Margaret Ferrante, Carole Fiola, Denise Garlick, Colleen Garry, Carmine Gentile, Carlos Gonzalez, Patricia Haddad, Jonathan Hecht, Kate Hogan, Bradley Jones, Louis Kafka, Timothy Madden, Paul McMurty, Leonard Mirra, James O’Day, Jerald Parisella, Sarah Peake, William Pignatelli, Paul Schmid, John Scibak, Frank Smizik, William Straus, and David Vieira