Legislative Conference Committee to Decide on CPA Surplus Funding

May 22, 2015:  Now that both the House and Senate have weighed in on the idea of transferring state surplus funding to the CPA Trust Fund this fall, the final decision is up to a Conference Committee of House and Senate members. For the past two years, the Conference Committee has come back with favorable results for CPA funding - $25 million from the FY13 state budget surplus, and $11.4 million in FY14. We are hopeful for a similar outcome this year.  

The Conference Committee is the 6th step of a complex, 10-step process for state surplus funds to be transferred to the CPA Trust Fund; click here for an explanation of the process.

As you already know, the House budget passed in April included $10 million in surplus funding be transferred to the CPA Trust Fund, if such funds should be available. Unfortunately, Senator Cynthia Stone Creem’s similar CPA amendment was rejected during the Senate budget debate on May 21st. The difference in the two budgets will be settled during the Conference Committee.

We are extremely grateful for the support of our Senator Creem, our longtime CPA sponsor, as well as Minority Leader Bruce Tarr and Senator Robert Hedlund for leading the effort to include CPA surplus funding in the Senate budget.  We'd also like to thank the long list of of senators listed below, all of whom co-sponsored the CPA amendment.

Co-Sponsors: Michael Barrett, William Brownsberger, Viriato deMacedo, Eileen Donoghue, Benjamin Downing, James Eldridge, Ryan Fattman, Linda Dorcena Forry, Jennifer Flanagan, Anne Gobi, Robert Hedlund, Donald Humason, Kathleen O'Connor Ives, Brian Joyce, John Keenan, Thomas Kennedy, Eric Lesser, Jason Lewis, Barbara L'Italien, Joan Lovely, Thomas McGee, Mark Montigny, Michael Moore, Richard Ross, Bruce Tarr, James Timilty, James Welch and Daniel Wolf.

Further Resources

>> The Massachusetts budget process can be confusing; we have tried to simplify it for you with this helpful chart.